Welcome Guest
Login /Register
Universe On Web
Top Story : UniverseOnWeb.com .....
solar system
Search Engine


Galapagos Islands Wonders of the Underwater

Wonders of the World :: --Ancient 7 Wonder||Medieval 7 Wonder||Modern 7 Wonder||Natural 7 Wonder||Wonder of Underwater||Wonder of Industrial||Wonder didn't know Existed||Human with Diffrent||20 Strange Place's||

Seven Wonders of the Underwater World :: -- 1.Palau|| 2.Belize Barrier Reef|| 3.Great Barrier Reef|| 4.Deep-Sea Vents|| 5.Galapagos Islands|| 6.Lake Baikal|| 7.Northern Red Sea||

Galapagos Islands

The Galapagos Islands (official name: Archipielago de Colon; other Spanish names: Islas de Colon or Islas Galapagos) are an archipelago of volcanic islands distributed around the equator in the Pacific Ocean, 972 km (525 nmi) west of continental Ecuador, of which they are a part.
The Galapagos Islands and its surrounding waters form an Ecuadorian province, a national park, and a biological marine reserve. The principal language on the islands is Spanish. The islands have a population of slightly over 25,000.
The islands are geologically young and famed for their vast number of endemic species, which were studied by Charles Darwin during the voyage of the Beagle. His observations and collections contributed to the inception of Darwin's theory of evolution by natural selection.
The first crude navigation chart of the islands was done by the buccaneer Ambrose Cowley in 1684. He named the individual islands after some of his fellow pirates or after the English noblemen who helped the privateer's cause. More recently, the Ecuadorian government gave most of the islands Spanish names. While the Spanish names are official, many users (especially ecological researchers) continue to use the older English names, particularly as those were the names used when Charles Darwin visited.

Galapagos Islands

The Galapagos Islands, located 1,000 km. (600 miles) off the coast of Ecuador in the Pacific Ocean, have captured the imagination of poets and biologists alike.

Separated from the mainland, evolution created stunning endemic creatures such as the giant tortoise and the sea iguana (see picture above), animals found only on the Galapagos.

If a visit to Ecuador is due than the islands will be remembered as the absolute highlight of an unforgettable journey.


  • Official Name: Archipielago de Colon
  • Capital: Puerto Baquerizo Moreno (San Cristobal Island)
  • Government: The Galapagos Islands are a province of Ecuador
  • Population: 40,000
  • Total Area: 7,880 square km (3,042 sq. miles) of land spread over 45,000 square km (28,000 miles) of ocean, made up of 13 main islands, 6 smaller islands, and 107 rocks and islets (5 inhabited)
  • Official Language: Spanish
  • Conservation: 97% protected as Galapagos National Park in 1959, 3% inhabited. Listed as an UNESCO World Heritage Site 1978, UNESCO Biosphere Reserve 1985, UNESCO included the 70,000 sq kilometres (43,496 sq mi.) of marine Reserve into the Galapagos world heritage site in 2001

The Galapagos Islands are made up of 18 main volcanic islands in an archipelago of Ecuador. These islands and the surrounding waters make up a national park and a biological marine reserve. The young naturalist Charles Darwin developed his theory of natural selection explaining evolution after researching the Galapagos Islands. These amazing islands are part of the ongoing series for finalists in the New 7 Wonders of the Nature competition. In 2007, UNESCO put the Galapagos Islands on the “List of World Heritage in Danger” due to the threats posed by invasive species, unbridled tourism and overfishing. Time and again, poachers have come into the Galapagos National Park and slaughtered sea lions. However in July 2010, the World Heritage Committee removed the Galapagos Islands from the “endangered” list because significant progress had been made by Ecuador in addressing threats. Yet in July 2011, Ecuadorean authorities seized 357 dead sharks from a boat that was fishing illegally in the protected waters of the Galapagos Marine Reserve. Since the Galapagos Islands have 170,000 visitors each year, new regulations have been introduced to protect the unique wildlife. Starting February 1, 2012, these new tourism regulations will limit vessels visiting the same site to no more than once during a 14-day period which may impact on travelers planning to visit the beautiful islands. So what do you think? Should the Galapagos Islands become one of the new 7 Wonders of Nature?