Welcome Guest
Login /Register
Universe On Web
Top Story : UniverseOnWeb.com .....
solar system
Search Engine


Chichen Itza

Wonders of the World ::--Ancient 7 Wonder||Medieval 7 Wonder||Modern 7 Wonder||Natural 7 Wonder||Wonder of Underwater||Wonder of Industrial||Wonder didn't know Existed||Human with Diffrent||20 Strange Place's||

Seven Wonders of the Modern World ::--1.Great Wall of China|| 2.Petra, Jordan|| 3.Christ the Redeemer|| 4.Machu Picchu|| 5.Chichen Itza|| 6.Colosseum|| 7.Taj Mahal|| Great Pyramid of Giza (Honorary Candidate)||

Chichen Itza

The archeological area of Chichen Itza and the Temple of Kukulcan were declared among the Seven Wonders of the World, together with the Great Wall of China, the ruins of Petra in Jordan, Cristo Redentor in Brazil, Machu Picchu in Peru, the Roman Colosseum in Italy and the Taj Mahal in India.

The Temple of Kukulcan, also known as El Castillo, or The Castle, was built based on an astronomic calculation and is the most emblematic of Chicken Itza, the most important capital city in the Maya region at the end of the Classic Period (between 750 to 1200 AD). When the Spaniards arrived in Mexico, at the beginning of the XVI century, the famous pyramid was still one of the most respected centers for prayer and pilgrimmage in the Yucatan peninsula, the heart of the Mayan world.

After being named among the Seven Wonders of the World, Mexico’s Council of Touristic Promotion (CPTM) indicated that the Chichen Itza will become the main attraction for touristic promotion abroad, and it is expected that tourism to the country to increase.

Mexico’s Department of Tourism noted that the Chichen Itza currently offers the "best services for tourists" but plans to make changes from being a destination that is only open nine hours a day, to "increase options for lodging" and include a "nocturnal visit".

These initiatives hope to "generate more employment and create an major economic boom" that will secure the development of this area, said the Tourism Department in a statement.

The CPTM invested more than $1 million in marketing to promote Chichen Itza as one of the wonders of the world, while the state government of Yucatan, where the arqueological zone is located, invested another $90,000.

Since 1930 it has been known that the pyramid or temple, dedicated to Kukulcan, the feathered snake, has three stages of construction, the oldest of which has yet to be explored, which is why its form and dimension remain a mystery.

Chichen Itza in Mayan means, "at the edge of the well of the itzaes".

Mexican President Felipe Calderon said that the fact that the Chichen Itza was named as a new wonder of the world is a "reflection of the great strength of our identity and our past".

"The solid root that feeds, unifies and identifies Mexicans is a great strength that gives us advantages as a nation, especially in the global world that we live in," said Calderon.

Chichen Itza (at the mouth of the well of the Itza) was a large pre-Columbian city built by the Maya civilization. The archaeological site is located in the municipality of Tinúm, in the Mexican state of Yucatan.
Chichen Itza was a major focal point in the northern Maya lowlands from the Late Classic (c.600–900 AD) through the Terminal Classic (c.800–900) and into the early portion of the Early Postclassic period (c.900–1200). The site exhibits a multitude of architectural styles, reminiscent of styles seen in central Mexico and of the Puuc and Chenes styles of the northern Maya lowlands. The presence of central Mexican styles was once thought to have been representative of direct migration or even conquest from central Mexico, but most contemporary interpretations view the presence of these non-Maya styles more as the result of cultural diffusion.
Chichen Itza was one of the largest Maya cities and it was likely to have been one of the mythical great cities, or Tollans, referred to in later Mesoamerican literature.
The ruins of Chichen Itza are federal property, and the site’s stewardship is maintained by Mexico’s Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia (National Institute of Anthropology and History, INAH). The land under the monuments had been privately-owned until 29 March 2010, when it was purchased by the state of Yucatan.
Chichen Itza is one of the most visited archaeological sites in Mexico; an estimated 1.2 million tourists visit the ruins every year.


Chichen Itza is located in the eatern portion of Yucatan state. The northern Yucatan Peninsula is arid, and the rivers in the interior all run underground. There are two large, natural sink holes, called cenotes, that could have provided plentiful water year round at Chichen, making it attractive for settlement. Of the two cenotes, the "Cenote Sagrado" or Sacred Cenote (also variously known as the Sacred Well or Well of Sacrifice), is the most famous. According to post-Conquest sources (Maya and Spanish), pre-Columbian Maya sacrificed objects and human beings into the cenote as a form of worship to the Maya rain god Chaac. Edward Herbert Thompson dredged the Cenote Sagrado from 1904 to 1910, and recovered artifacts of gold, jade, pottery and incense, as well as human remains. A study of human remains taken from the Cenote Sagrado found that they had wounds consistent with human sacrifice.


Site description

Chichen Itza was one of the largest Maya cities, with the relatively densely clustered architecture of the site core covering an area of at least 5 square kilometres . Smaller scale residential architecture extends for an unknown distance beyond this. The city was built upon broken terrain, which was artificially levelled in order to build the major architectural groups, with the greatest effort being expended in the levelling of the areas for the Castillo pyramid, and the Las Monjas, Osario and Main Southwest groups. The site contains many fine stone buildings in various states of preservation, and many have been restored. The buildings were connected by a dense network of paved causeways, called sacbeob. Archaeologists have identified over 80 sacbeob criss-crossing the site, and extending in all directions from the city.
The architecture encompasses a number of styles, including the Puuc and Chenes styles of the northern Yucatan Peninsula. The buildings of Chichen Itza are grouped in a series of architectonic sets, and each set was at one time separated from the other by a series of low walls. The three best known of these complexes are the Great North Platform, which includes the monuments of El Castillo, Temple of Warriors and the Great Ball Court; The Ossario Group, which includes the pyramid of the same name as well as the Temple of Xtoloc; and the Central Group, which includes the Caracol, Las Monjas, and Akab Dzib.
South of Las Monjas, in an area known as Chichen Viejo (Old Chichen) and only open to archaeologists, are several other complexes, such as the Group of the Initial Series, Group of the Lintels, and Group of the Old Castle.