Welcome Guest
Login /Register
Universe On Web
Top Story : UniverseOnWeb.com .....
solar system
Search Engine


Eight Thousander Mountain

Eight Thousander Mountain on Earth ::-- 1.Mount Everest|| 2.K2 Mountain|| 3.Kangchenjunga|| 4.Lhotse Mountain|| 5.Makalu Mountain|| 6.Cho Oyu Mountain|| 7.Dhaulagiri Mountain|| 8.Manaslu Mountain|| 9.Nanga Parbat Mountain|| 10.Annapurna Mountain||11.Gasherbrum||12.Broad Peak||13.Gasherbrum Mountain||14.Shishapangma Mountain||

Seven Summits Continent wise on Earth ::--||Aconcagua (S.America)||Carstensz(Oceana)||Elbrus (Europe)||M.Evrest (Asia)||Kilimanjaro (Africa)||Mskinley (N.America)||Vinson (Antarktica)||

Eight Thousander Mountain

The eight-thousanders are the fourteen independent mountains on Earth that are more than 8,000 metres (26,247 ft) high above sea level. They are all located in the Himalayan and Karakoram mountain ranges in Asia.
The first recorded attempt on an eight-thousander took place on the expedition by Albert F. Mummery, and J. Norman Collie to Nanga Parbat in the territory of Kashmir (in present day Pakistan Administered Kashmir) in 1895; this attempt failed as Mummery and two Gurkhas, Ragobir and Goman Singh, were killed by an avalanche.
The first recorded successful ascent of an eight-thousander was by Maurice Herzog and Louis Lachenal, who reached the summit of Annapurna on June 3, 1950.
The first person to climb all fourteen eight-thousanders was Reinhold Messner. He completed this task on October 16, 1986. A year later, in 1987, Jerzy Kukuczka became the second climber to accomplish this feat. As of 2011, a total of 26 people have summitted all 14 peaks undisputed. This is an extremely hazardous feat; at least four people have died while in pursuit of this goal. Phurba Tashi of Nepal has completed the most climbs of the eight-thousanders, with 26 ascents between 1998 and 2011. Juanito Oiarzabal has completed the second most, with a total of 25 times from 1985 to 2011.
The countries with the highest number of climbers that have climbed all fourteen eight-thousanders are Italy and South Korea, with 4 climbers each, and Kazakhstan, Poland and Spain with 3 climbers each. The first woman who claimed to have summited all 14 eight-thousanders was Oh Eun-Sun of South Korea, stating she completed the set by summiting Annapurna on April 27, 2010. Doubts about this claim have been raised by several parties and an inquiry by the Korean Alpine Federation (KAF) declared her summit claim for Kangchenjunga 2009 "unlikely". Their doubts add to those previously brought forward by rival Edurne Pasaban, which moved Himalayan chronicler Elizabeth Hawley in the spring of 2010 to tag the summit as “disputed.". Later in 2010, Edurne Pasaban was declared the first woman to climb all fourteen eight-thousanders.

The Eight Thousanders make up an impressive list, and not surprisingly they are all found in the Himalayas and the Karakoram mountain range:

  • Everest – 8848m – Nepal/China
  • K2 – 8611m – Karakoram
  • Kangchenjunga – 8586m – Nepal/India
  • Lhotse – 8516m – Nepal/China
  • Makalu – 8485m – Nepal/China
  • Cho Oyu – 8188m – Nepal/China
  • Dhaulagiri 1 – 8167m – Nepal
  • Manaslu – 8163m – Nepal
  • Nanga Purbat – 8126m – Pakistan
  • Annapurna 1 – 8091m – Nepal
  • Gasherbrum 1 (or Hidden Peak) – 8080m – Karakoram
  • Gasherbrum 11  – 8035m – Karakoram
  • Broad Peak – 8051m – Karakoram
  • Shishapangma – 8027m – China

aconcagua mountain