Welcome Guest
Login /Register
Universe On Web
Top Story : UniverseOnWeb.com .....
solar system
Search Engine


Seven Summits

Eight Thousander Mountain on Earth ::-- 1.Mount Everest|| 2.K2 Mountain|| 3.Kangchenjunga|| 4.Lhotse Mountain|| 5.Makalu Mountain|| 6.Cho Oyu Mountain|| 7.Dhaulagiri Mountain|| 8.Manaslu Mountain|| 9.Nanga Parbat Mountain|| 10.Annapurna Mountain||11.Gasherbrum||12.Broad Peak||13.Gasherbrum Mountain||14.Shishapangma Mountain||

Seven Summits Continent wise on Earth ::--||Aconcagua (S.America)||Carstensz(Oceana)||Elbrus (Europe)||M.Evrest (Asia)||Kilimanjaro (Africa)||Mskinley (N.America)||Vinson (Antarktica)||

Seven Summits

The Seven Summits are the highest mountains of each of the seven continents.


The highest mountain in the Australian mainland is Mt. Kosciuszko, 2,228 metres (7,310 ft) above sea level. However, the highest mountain in the Australian continent which includes Australia and New Guinea is Puncak Jaya, 4,884 m (16,024 ft) above sea level, in the Indonesian province of Papua on the island of New Guinea which lies on the Australian continental shelf. Puncak Jaya is also known as Carstensz Pyramid.
Some sources claim Mount Wilhelm, 4,509 m (14,793 ft), as the highest mountain peak in Oceania, on account of Indonesia being part of Asia and Southeast Asia. (See List of Southeast Asian mountains, which includes Puncak Jaya and other mountains in Papua, Indonesia.) However, such a definition is political, not geophysical. The peak belongs to the Bismarck Range of Papua New Guinea. The Seven Summits list sometimes includes Mount Wilhelm.


In Europe, the generally accepted highest summit is Mount Elbrus (5,642 m/18,510 ft) in the Caucasus. However, because the location of the boundary between Asia and Europe is not universally agreed upon, its inclusion in Europe is disputed: if the Kuma-Manych depression is used as geological border between Asia and Europe, Caucasus and Elbrus lie wholly in Asia. If the Greater Caucasus watershed is used instead, Elbrus' peaks are wholly in Europe, albeit close to the border with Asia.
The highest mountain indisputably within Europe is Mont Blanc (4,810 m/15,781 ft) in the Graian Alps, on the border between France and Italy.

The Seven Summits, a well-known mountaineering objective, are the highest peaks on each of the seven continents. The Seven Summits, from highest to lowest, are:

  1. Asia: Mount Everest 29,035 feet (8850 meters)
  2. South America: Aconcagua 22,829 feet (6962 meters)
  3. North America: Denali AKA Mount McKinley 20,320 feet (6194 meters)
  4. Africa: Kilimanjaro 19,340 feet (5895 meters)
  5. Europe: Mount Elbrus 18,510 feet (5642 meters)
  6. Antarctica: Mount Vinson 16,067 feet (4897 meters)
  7. Australia: Mount Kosciusko 7,310 feet (2228 meters)
  8. Australasia/Oceania: Carstensz Pyramid 16,023 feet (4884 meters)

Seven Summits Controversy

All the hype about climbing the Seven Summits has led to lots of controversy. Many of the people that have completed their Seven Summits quest are inexperienced climbers who pay immense amounts of cash to outfitters and climbing guides to drag, cajole, and short-rope them up the difficult peaks like Mount Everest, Denali, and Mount Vinson. Critics argue that guides, like those on the disastrous 1996 Everest season, put client’s lives in danger by pushing them toward summits in bad weather conditions. The amateur Seven Summit climbers, rather than garnering the necessary experience and skills that would allow them to climb these peaks as an expedition member rather than a guided client, shell out as much as $60,000 for the chance to reach the lofty summit of Mt. Everest, the world’s highest point, and Mount Vinson, the most remote of the Seven Summits.

seven summit

Climbing the Seven Summits

Mount Everest is considered the most difficult and dangerous of the Seven Summits for climbers, while Australia’s Mount Kosciuszko, if you’re doing the “easy” list, is the easiest to climb, being just a short day hike. Otherwise, the big rounded volcano of Kilimanjaro, also a walk-up peak, is also relatively easy to climb, although the altitude usually defeats many of its suitors. It’s usually the first peak of the Seven Summits that climbers tick off their list. Both Aconcagua and Mount Elbrus are also simple climbs that are ascended with basic mountaineering skills in good weather. Aconcagua, with a trail most of the way to its summit, is still a high mountain and proper acclimatization is essential for success. Carstensz Pyramid is technically the most difficult of the seven peaks to climb since it requires technical rock climbing skills. Denali and Mount Vinson present more serious challenges to would-be climbers. Denali is a huge mountain covered with glaciers and exposed to severe weather, while Vinson in Antarctica is remote, hard to reach, and expensive.