Welcome Guest
Login /Register
Universe On Web
Top Story : UniverseOnWeb.com .....
Australlia Continent
Search Engine


Australlia Continent

Australlia Continent ::--australlia(continent) facts||australlia history||australlia geography||australlia Heritage site||

Australlia Continent

Australia is world's smallest continent, comprising mainland of Australia and proximate islands including Tasmania, New Guinea, Aru Islands and Raja Ampat Islands. Australia and se nearby islands, all part of same geological landmass, are separated by seas overlying continental shelf — Arafura Sea and Torres Strait between Australia and New Guinea, and Bass Strait between mainland Australia and Tasmania.
When sea levels were lower during Pleistocene ice age, including last glacial maximum about 18,000 BC, lands formed a single, continuous landmass. During past ten thousand years, rising sea levels overflowed lowlands and separated continent into today's low-lying arid to semi-arid mainland and two mountainous islands of New Guinea and Tasmania.
Geologically, continent extends to edge of continental shelf, so now-separate lands can still be considered a continent. Due to spread of flora and fauna across single Pleistocene landmass separate lands have a related biota.
New Zealand is not on same continental shelf and so is not part of continent of Australia but is part of submerged continent Zealandia. Zealandia and Australia toger are part of wider region known as Oceania or Australasia. Australia is sometimes known in technical contexts by names Sahul, Australinea and Meganesia.

Geography and nomenclature

The Australian continent is the smallest and lowest-lying human-inhabited continent on Earth, having a total land area of some 8,560,000 square kilometres (3,305,000 sq. mi.). The continental shelf connecting the islands, half of which is less than 50 metres deep covers some 2,500,000 square kilometres, including the Sahul Shelf and Bass Strait. As the country of Australia is mostly on a single landmass, and comprises most of the continent, it is sometimes informally referred to as an "island" continent, surrounded by oceans.
Prior to the 1970s, archaeologists called the single Pleistocene landmass by the name Australasia, derived from the Latin australis, meaning "southern", although this word is most often used for a wider region that includes lands like New Zealand that are not on the same continental shelf.
In the early 1970s they introduced the term Greater Australia for the Pleistocene continent. Then at a 1975 conference and consequent publication, they extended the name Sahul from its previous use for just the Sahul Shelf to cover the continent.
Biologists suggested in 1984 the name Meganesia, meaning "great island" or "great island-group", applying it to both the Pleistocene continent and the present-day lands, and this name has been taken up by biologists. Others have used Meganesia with different meanings: travel writer Paul Theroux included New Zealand in his definition and others have used it for Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii. Another biologist, Richard Dawkins coined the name Australinea in 2004. Australia-New Guinea has also been used.

This is list of countrie's in Australlia continent..
13. Marshall Islands – Majuro
31.Kiribati – South Tarawa 32.Micronesia – Palikir 33.New Zealand – Wellington

How To Make Money In Australlia ??

Australia, is a country in the Southern Hemisphere comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands in the Indian and Pacific Oceans. 

For at least 40,000 years before European settlement in the late 18th century, Australia was inhabited by indigenous Australians. After sporadic visits by fishermen from the immediate north and discovery by Dutch explorers in 1606, Australias eastern half was claimed by Britain in 1770 and initially settled through penal transportation to the colony of New South Wales, founded on 26 January 1788. The population grew steadily in the following years; the continent was explored and an additional five largely self-governing Crown Colonies were established during the 19th century. 

Now a prosperous developed country, Australia is the worlds thirteenth largest economy. Australia ranks highly in many international comparisons of national performance such as human development, quality of life, health care, life expectancy, public education, economic freedom and the protection of civil liberties and political rights.

Australlia Continent Map

Although the Australian Association may give some hint that the continent of Australia is actually one country, in truth it is anything but a single nation. In fact it is safe to say that it is as divided today as over a century ago, when the various Crown colonies at the time decided to go their own separate ways. Only in 1900 did it appear, with the establishment of the Association, that somewhere in the near future the Australian continent could soon become one country.

This seemed to be even more so the case when World War I came began.  Taking the advice from Britain, the Australian nations united their various armed forces, along with those of New Zealand, under the organisation known as the Australian & New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC). The history of ANZAC is well known & did much to bring the continent together, but once the Great War was over, each nation then went their own separate way. The same would be repeated during & after World War II.

There is no particular overall reason why the Australian nations have never combined to form one country. Rather there are various reasons based upon each region’s characteristics & the ethos of each nation. For Victoria & Tasmania it basically came down to having a “Protectionist”  economy, whilst New South Wales & Queensland had “Free Trade” economies. Furthermore, New South Wales & Queensland feared an Asian invasion from the north, which Victoria & Tasmania thought ludicrous & refused to join a union which wasted money on paranoia.

South Australia (Süd Australien) had very different reasons for staying independent. Having a large German population (about 50%), albeit with a large British populous, most South Australians felt that their uniqueness would be lost to the much larger colonies with solely British populations. This uniqueness can be clearly seen when South Australia adopted a bilingual society which recognised its Anglo-German society. When serious unification talks took place in 1920 between Victoria, Tasmania, New South Wales, Queensland & South Australia, the former four refused South Australia’s demand that the new nation become bilingual based on the South Australian model. Needless to say, the 1920 effort to form an Australian Union fell apart.

For Western Australia (Austrália Ocidental), rejecting unification in 1900 was basically for practical reasons. Being physically isolated from the rest of Australia, the West relied more on international contacts via the trade routes of the Indian Ocean than with the rest of the continent. Thus having very little in common with the East, they could expect little or no help if the West came under external threat. Although they were similar to invasion paranoia to both Queensland & New South Wales, they believed that they would have to rely on themselves rather than others. Even though this belief is totally unfounded these days,  the same attitude of self reliance, nevertheless, influences all Western Australian attitudes.