Welcome Guest
Login /Register
Universe On Web
Top Story : UniverseOnWeb.com .....
Africa Map
Search Engine


Africa Continent

Africa Continent ::--Africa facts||Africa history||Africa geography||Africa world heritage site||


Africa is the world's second largest and second most populous continent, after Asia. At about 30.2 million km² (11.7 million sq mi) including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of the Earth's total surface area and 20.4% of the total land area. With 1.0 billion people (as of 2009, see table) in 65 territories (including 54 recognized states), it accounts for about 14.72% of the world's human population.
The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, both the Suez Canal and the Red Sea along the Sinai Peninsula to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The continent includes Madagascar and various archipelagoes and has 57 sovereign states ("countries") and two states with limited recognition.
Africa, particularly central Eastern Africa, is widely regarded within the scientific community to be the origin of humans and the Hominidae clade (great apes), as evidenced by the discovery of the earliest hominids and their ancestors, as well as later ones that have been dated to around seven million years ago – including Sahelanthropus tchadensis, Australopithecus africanus, A. afarensis, Homo erectus, H. habilis and H. ergaster – with the earliest Homo sapiens (modern human) found in Ethiopia being dated to circa 200,000 years ago.
Africa straddles the equator and encompasses numerous climate areas; it is the only continent to stretch from the northern temperate to southern temperate zones. The African expected economic growth rate is at about 5.0% for 2010 and 5.5% in 2011.

From north Africa and Asia to the Mediterranean and the Suez Canal in the northeast is divided into sınırlanırken. Continental is adjacent to the east, the Red Sea and Indian Ocean. 18 km from the Arabian Peninsula in the Strait of Babülmendep approaches. South of the continent, the Indian Ocean, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean west. Separated by 14 km wide Strait of Gibraltar from Europe to the continent in the northwest.Rift valley of the large volcanoes, fault blocks, and inselbergerlerden and a continent of great deserts.The highest point is Mount Kilimanjaro (5,895 m) but the lowest point is Lake Assal (-156 m).

All of Africa and the Sahara Desert and all the world’s largest çölüdür. He still continues to widen.

This is the list of countrie's in Africa continent..

How To Make Money In Africa ??

One of the old world, the African lands, 30,218,000 sq km surface area between the continents of Asia and the United States ranks third, behind.

African name, Carthage by the Romans first set foot on the “Africans” or “Africani” was inspired by the name of the so-called tribes. African name given to this country during the Punic wars. Until then, the Greek authors of this continent, “Libya,” meaning “Land of Lebular” they would say. But after Christ 1. at the end of the century, this name was used for the whole continent. Africa after the Arabic term than “İfrikiya” was in the form.

Africa, Tunisia, White Nose north-south direction (37 ° 22 ’20 N Parallel) with the Republic of South Africa, Cape Agulhas (34 ° 50’28 S Parallel) length of 8,025 km, the east-west direction, in Somalia, the Ras Hafun Cape (51 ° 25 ’27 E meridian) in Senegal and Green Cape (17 ° 31′ 17 W meridian) between the 7,416 km wide.

30,221,532 km2 (11,668,599 sq mi)
1,022,234,000 (2010, 2nd)
Pop. density
30.51/km2 (about 80/sq mi)
Languages of Africa
Time Zones
UTC-1 to UTC+4

Africa map

The African Union

The African Union (AU) is a 54 member federation consisting of all of Africa's states except Morocco. The union was formed, with Addis Ababa, Ethiopia as its headquarters, on 26 June 2001. The union was officially established on 9 July 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU). In July 2004, the African Union's Pan-African Parliament (PAP) was relocated to Midrand, in South Africa, but the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights remained in Addis Ababa. There is a policy in effect to decentralize the African Federation's institutions so that they are shared by all the states.
The African Union, not to be confused with the AU Commission, is formed by the Constitutive Act of the African Union, which aims to transform the African Economic Community, a federated commonwealth, into a state under established international conventions. The African Union has a parliamentary government, known as the African Union Government, consisting of legislative, judicial and executive organs. It is led by the African Union President and Head of State, who is also the President of the Pan African Parliament. A person becomes AU President by being elected to the PAP, and subsequently gaining majority support in the PAP. The powers and authority of the President of the African Parliament derive from the Constitutive Act and the Protocol of the Pan African Parliament, as well as the inheritance of presidential authority stipulated by African treaties and by international treaties, including those subordinating the Secretary General of the OAU Secretariat (AU Commission) to the PAP. The government of the AU consists of all-union (federal), regional, state, and municipal authorities, as well as hundreds of institutions, that together manage the day-to-day affairs of the institution.
Political associations such as the African Union offer hope for greater co-operation and peace between the continent's many countries. Extensive human rights abuses still occur in several parts of Africa, often under the oversight of the state. Most of such violations occur for political reasons, often as a side effect of civil war. Countries where major human rights violations have been reported in recent times include the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Sudan, Zimbabwe, and Côte d'Ivoire.